Buachaille Etive Mor: until the end of the night !!

Saturday, 9. June 2017, Scotland at last !! Heading N on the A82 along Loch Lomond, the second largest lake in Great Britain after Loch Ness, I am becoming impatient. This portion of the road is winding and not too wide, but busy, not leaving many opportunities to enjoy the magnificent scenery. After the loch, it widens and heads straight N up the valley. Crianlarich, Tyndrum, Bridge of Orchy. Between these touristic villages, a void. Or should I say, beautiful, green landscapes, overlooked by the steep slopes of a few invisible munros.Then the road follows the edge of Loch Tulla before veering up the large hairpin, taking the stranger into another dimension…
The A82 crossing Rannoch Moor at sunset. Left in the distance stands Buachaille Etive Mor.

Continue reading “Buachaille Etive Mor: until the end of the night !!”

A SCOTTISH DREAM (and a bit of my story…)

Some tough-going, high mountain ground and munros as far as the eye can see: the E ridge of Ben Starav (Scotland)

Fourteen years. Fourteen years I had not been back to Scotland. I had only been there once actually, in April 2003. An eight-day road-trip, with only two walks. Since almost a year, I keep dreaming about these wild, wide open spaces of moorlands and countless lakes and mountains, and especially these scary munros which rise so steeply above the Highlands. And now I can hear you ask: what is a munro ?

Continue reading “A SCOTTISH DREAM (and a bit of my story…)”

FIRST DAY IN THE MOURNE MOUNTAINS: FROM SLIEVE MUCK TO BUTTER MOUNTAIN

My second article will take you to the heart of the Mourne Mountains in Northern Ireland, about one hour driving distance S of Belfast. After so many trips on the Emerald Isle, it was about time for me to visit this popular area, one of the only main mountain ranges I had not yet set foot on. In my quest of climbing all of the Irish +500m summits, I had only visited two in Northern Ireland, Slieve Croob (539m) and Slieve Gullion (574m), respectively N and WSW of the Mournes. A few days’ trip last November would allow me to add a few others to my personal list…

A CHOICE OF ROUTES UNDER BEAUTIFUL NOVEMBER SKIES…

But why November ? Not the best period for hill-walking, usually wet, dull and cold and the days are short. But I have been in Ireland every year in November since 2012 and the weather has not always been that bad. The only thing is, you need an early start if you intend to complete long walks or you will have a night finish.

The Mournes are definitely the ideal place for a peak-bagger like me. The summits are relatively close to each other and most of them can be accessed with good trails -which is rather unusual in Ireland. If the weather allows, I could bag quite a few of the 35 +500m listed summits during these four days. And there is a great choice in linear routes or loops. Therefore, I will decide of my first route only on the previous night…

DSC_1018
Thick clouds rolling over the summit of Slieve Muck…

Continue reading “FIRST DAY IN THE MOURNE MOUNTAINS: FROM SLIEVE MUCK TO BUTTER MOUNTAIN”

Upcoming video !!

Here is the teaser of a video directed by Iplay4you, a famous French youtuber I had the pleasure to guide -with his detection gear (!!)- to the top of a mountain in the French Pyrenees two weeks ago. The full video will be published within a few weeks (no subtitles I am afraid…) !!

PIQUE ROUGE DE BASSIES: JUST AWESOME !!

For my first article, I will take you for a walk in the East-Central Pyrenees, back to a (short) time when I was just thinking about doing my own thing. At the time, I could only go walking on week-ends or holidays, as I was spending the week working in an office -but that was before I started this blog…

Looking at the Mont Garias (2006m) from the beginning of the walk, along the GR10.

Continue reading “PIQUE ROUGE DE BASSIES: JUST AWESOME !!”

LE REVE ECOSSAIS (et un peu de mon histoire…)

Un terrain tourmenté qui s’apparente à de la haute montagne et des munros à perte de vue… La crête E de Ben Starav (Ecosse)

Quatorze ans. Quatorze ans que je n’ai pas remis les pieds en Ecosse. A vrai dire, je n’y étais allé qu’une seule fois, en avril 2003. Un road-trip de huit jours, avec seulement deux randonnées. Et depuis près d’un an, je rêve ardemment de ces immenses étendues sauvages, de ces paysages de landes, de lacs et de montagnes à perte de vue, et surtout de ces redoutables munros qui se dressent fièrement et dominent, du haut de leurs pentes abruptes, le coeur des Highlands. Là, je vous entends déjà murmurer la question: qu’est-ce qu’un munro ?

Continuer la lecture de « LE REVE ECOSSAIS (et un peu de mon histoire…) »

MOURNE MOUNTAINS, PREMIERE JOURNEE : DE SLIEVE MUCK A BUTTER MOUNTAIN

Je vous emmène cette fois dans le nord-est de l’Irlande, au cœur des Mourne Mountains, situées à environ une heure de route au sud de Belfast. Après une douzaine de séjours sur cette île, il était grand temps pour moi d’aller explorer ce massif très populaire, l’un des rares où je ne m’étais pas encore aventuré. Dans ma conquête des sommets irlandais de plus de 500m, je n’en avais jusqu’ici visités que deux en Irlande du Nord, Slieve Croob (539m) et Slieve Gullion (574m), situés respectivement au N et au SO des Mournes. En novembre dernier, je pars donc, bien décidé à rajouter quelques sommets à ma collection…

UN SI JOLI MOIS DE NOVEMBRE ET DE NOMBREUX PARCOURS POSSIBLES

Mais pourquoi novembre, me direz-vous ? C’est vrai que c’est loin d’être la meilleure période: il fait en général plutôt maussade, froid et humide, et les journées sont particulièrement courtes. Mais j’ai pris l’habitude d’aller en Irlande quelques jours à cette période, et ce depuis 2012. Et la météo n’a pas toujours été si mauvaise que ça. Par contre, mieux vaut ne pas partir marcher trop tard afin de ne pas être surpris par la nuit.

Pour un « peak-bagger » comme moi, les Mournes, c’est le rêve. Les sommets sont relativement proches les uns des autres et la plupart sont reliés par de bons sentiers -chose rare en Irlande. Si la météo est suffisamment clémente pendant ces quatre jours, je peux faire une razzia parmi les 35 sommets de plus de 500m répertoriés. Parcours linéaires ou en boucle, le choix des itinéraires est riche de possibilités. Je vais donc décider au dernier moment du parcours de ma première randonnée.

DSC_1018
D’épais nuages recouvrent le sommet de Slieve Muck…

Continuer la lecture de « MOURNE MOUNTAINS, PREMIERE JOURNEE : DE SLIEVE MUCK A BUTTER MOUNTAIN »

Vidéo à venir !!

Le « teaser » de la vidéo réalisée par le célèbre youtuber Iplay4you, que j’ai eu le plaisir d’emmener, avec son matériel de détection (!!), à la conquête d’un sommet pyrénéen il y a deux semaines. La vidéo sortira d’ici la fin du mois !!

 

PIQUE ROUGE DE BASSIES: JUSTE FABULEUX !!

Pour mon premier article, je vous emmène dans les Pyrénées ariégeoises, à une époque -pas si lointaine que ça- où l’idée de voler de mes propres ailes commençait tout juste à me trotter dans la tête. Une époque où je ne partais marcher que certains week-ends, vu que je passais la semaine au bureau -mais ça, c’était avant…

Début de rando sur le GR10, avec vue sur le Mont Garias (2006m).

Continuer la lecture de « PIQUE ROUGE DE BASSIES: JUSTE FABULEUX !! »